Racquetball Canada

Racquetball national team selection played through Vernon

This article was originally published in the Vernon Morning Star on November 26, 2017.


Racquetball national team selection played through Vernon
The event brought 26 of Canada’s top athletes to Rosters Sports Club Nov. 24-26

Despite having no hometown players ranking, Vernon played host to Racquetball Canada’s National Team Selection event this weekend.

Quebec products Samuel Murray of Baie-Comeau and Frédérique Lambert of Montréal finished on top of the podium at the event, which pitted 26 of Canada’s top athletes against eachother in the tournament held at Rosters Sports Club Nov. 24-26.

Murray defeated Tim Landeryou of Calgary in Sunday’s final in two games with scores of 15-3, 15-8. Both Murray and Landeryou have won National Team Selection Events in the past with Murray having the most recent win at the selection event held last November. Murray has been active on the International Racquetball Tour (IRT) this season and he used his experience and power in today’s final.

Coby Iwaasa of Lethbridge finished in third place.

“Iwaasa has been away from the sport for two years and has just returned to Canada in the past month,” said Jan Hanson, director of communications and marketing. “He was ranked second in Canada at the time he left. His results indicate that he’s still a serious contender.”

In the women’s open event, the top four finished in order of their seeding.

“Lambert continued her winning record at Canadian events, proving why she is ranked number one in Canada and second on the Ladies Pro Racquetball Tour,” Hanson said.

All of the top four women had strong matches throughout the weekend. Jen Saunders and Christine Richardson, both of Winnipeg, have firmly claimed their respective second and third place rankings. Danielle Drury of Saskatoon, repeated her fourth place finish from the last selection event held in February of 2017.

Results from the Vernon Selection Event will be combined with results from previous national events to select teams that will represent Canada in 2018.

[Read More]