Dorcy Norton Racquetball

WCW #24 – AKA Women Making Racquetball History Now! – Dorcy Norton

Daily Racquetball’s Women Crush Wednesday Racquetball Influencers!

AKA Women Making Racquetball History Now!

We will feature another woman making racquetball history every Wednesday. Do you know someone else we should be celebrating with this interview and feature process? Drop us a line on Facebook!


Name: Dorcy Norton

Are you a pro player, coach, association board member, tournament organizer, or racquetball broadcaster AKA why do racquetball players know you?

Former RB player-Elite level-play paddleball & pickleball now – due to knee replacements. Tournament director for RB & pickleball – run WOR Outdoor Nationals, help w/ 3WB Vegas tourney & direct tourney/shootouts for LA Fitness. Have run and/or helped with many other tourneys. Also on CNRA Board (California/Nevada) for at least 6 years could be closer to 10 (can’t remember when started serving). Also ran SoCal Racquetball page to keep players updated on local events – have handed over page to another player but still put input in.

Where do you promote racquetball on social media and the web?
SoCal Racquetball page

Country of Origin: USA
Place you consider home: Escondido, California

When & how where you introduced to the competitive side of racquetball? 1979-80

Playing hand: Right

Year you started playing racquetball: 1977

First female mentor or idol in racquetball: Lynn Adams and Karin Walton

Favorite racquetball shot:
indoor: backhand overhead crosscourt pinch (I know low percentage shot but I had it down & it worked for me)
Outdoor: Forehand crosscourt pinch from backcourt

Motivation for the game (what keeps you playing):
Not playing now & I miss it. I’m working my way back up – started back with paddleball: getting my timing and movement back slowly. Having to retrain my body , after 3years off and 2 new knees and a hip (I’m almost bionic now)

Love most about racquetball:
The people & the game – loved competing in mixed doubles the most

Preferred equipment:
GEARBOX – they are great-been with them since their second year. It’s a big family!! I’m known as Gearbox Team Mom! They are the Best!

Favorite event:
Tough decision – tie between National Doubles (playing) & WOR Outdoor Nationals at Huntington Beach (playing and running tourney desk)

Best results at tournaments you’ve played in:
National Doubles : Have won Women’s A twice (different partners)
Have won Mixed Elite doubles
Outdoors : have won Mixed A, Women’s Elites
Was outdoor Elite women doubles player of year (earned the most points)
Have won many other tourneys with some great partners, I have been blessed to play with some wonderful people. Just love playing doubles. Been so long since I played singles, I can’t remember any to name them.

Day job:
Manage a wonderful dental office (been there 19 years)

Charity close to your heart: Habitat for Humanity

Family shoutout:
Have been blessed with a daughter & a son (who is also a racquetball player) & now have a grandson & granddaughter. Love them to the moon & back. Being a grandparent is the best thing ever!

Other sports played in addition to racquetball:
Volleyball, paddleball, pickleball, biking, kayaking, swimming

What can we do to activate more female players?
For competition: give them more play-round robin or pool play.
For building/growing the sport: have social leagues/get-togethers with play and then get together after.

What is your hope for the future of racquetball?
That we can figure out how to keep it alive by teaching young kids, getting it back into school sports to keep it growing & introducing it to new players. Gotta have the youth to keep growing it.

If you could bring one thing back from racquetball past – what would it be and why?
The old style of racquetball club with the restaurant/bar in it. Where players could congregate after with friends and family-kids allowed too. Built many long lasting friendships. The club that catered to the family & created events for their players & families. We played together, went camping, skiing and enjoyed each others company. Still friends with people from 40 years ago from this.

What do you do to train?
Before I had to replace my knees & hip, I did Spin class 2x week, weights 2x week and swam 2x week. Now trying to reestablish part of this routine.

What is the biggest challenge you face right now as it comes to racquetball, and how do you work to overcome that challenge?
Working back up to racquetball, hoping I can play again but don’t wish to wear out the knees again. Racquetball was a huge part of my life & its where I’m most comfortable. I’ve always come back to racquetball-took time off for having kids & came back. Love the game.


Do you know someone else we should be celebrating with this interview and feature process? Drop us a line on Facebook!