Gaby Martinez Racquetball

WCW #5 – AKA Women Making Racquetball History Now! – Gaby Martinez

Daily Racquetball’s Women Crush Wednesday Racquetball Influencers!

AKA Women Making Racquetball History Now!

We will feature another woman making racquetball history every Wednesday. Do you know someone else we should be celebrating with this interview and feature process? Drop us a line on Facebook!


Name: Ana Gabriela Martínez González

Are you a pro player, coach, association board member, tournament organizer, or racquetball broadcaster AKA why do racquetball players know you?

I am a pro player that has also had great success internationally as a junior player.

Where do you promote racquetball on social media and the web?

Facebook Athlete Page:

Country of Origin: Guatemala
Place you consider home: Guatemala City

Have you ever been on your country’s national team? When?:
I have been on Guatemala´s national team, since I was 9 years old.

Did you play as a junior? When & how where you introduced to the competitive side of racquetball?
This is my last year as a junior, I have played all divisions since 2008.
Competing started three months after I started to play, always as a junior.
In 2013 I started to play as an Open player participating in the Central American Games, San José, Costa Rica.

Playing hand: Right

Year you started playing racquetball: 2007

First female mentor or idol in racquetball:
Never had an idol in racquetball or in life, I rather just focus in myself, than comparing with others. I started to play as a coincidence. My parents love sports and so they made me practice most of them when I was little. And the sound of racquetballs created some interest that made me try it. Since that moment I have always had a racquet by side.

Favorite racquetball shot: Splat

Motivation for the game (what keeps you playing):
I love to be representing my country all over the world. Racquetball has been most of my life, so I actually can´t imagine how my life would be without it.

Love most about racquetball:
That I am able to meet new places and people. Helps me be unstressed and healthy.

Preferred equipment: I´ve used E-force since I started to play, but I really like some other brands equipment.

Favorite event: The Pan American Games in Toronto.

Best results at tournaments you’ve played in:
7x World Junior Champion, 3x bronze medalist in Pan American Championships, Silver medal at Worlds two years ago.

Day job: Racquetball

Family shoutout:
My parents, my sister and my grandmother, everything I have done is thanks to them and I always try to do my best in the name of them.

Other sports played in addition to racquetball:
Soccer, dancing, swimming, badminton, volleyball, beach volleyball, tennis, squash, basketball, athletics and competed a couple times in fronton.